week one of training for Iowa bike ride

Yahoo. Fifty miles total. Tomorrow I bike twenty miles and then two days of ten and one more day of twenty. Will see how that goes. Turning sixty in September and I figured the July bike ride across Iowa (including Carroll, Iowa, my birthplace) would be an appropriately challenging way to celebrate embarking into a new decade. As my husband commented when he saw me pull up on my steed after today’s ride, “You’ve never done anything like this before.” He’s talking physically, of course. Sixty years of living takes a zillion times more stamina, doesn’t it????

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Parker
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 01:29:37

    Wow, Mary, you are really doing a great job training and what a wonderful goal!

    Reply

    • maryaltermanwrites
      Apr 28, 2011 @ 11:39:21

      Thanks, Sharon. It’s really helped to have friends on the internet encouraging me along the way. I realized I hadn’t posted on Facebook all week and my miles keep dropping. Of course the weather hasn’t cooperated much either! However, today I’m determined to ride twenty miles (two hours). The bike trails make it easy, but it’ll be even easier when we get some spring weather.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Other Awesome Authors

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

