testing, testing, testing

the new feature of word press, publicize now,which directly connects my blog to my Facebook and twitter account. I’m not seeing the magic button I push, which reminds me of the fairy tale, “The Magic Button.”

It begins as do all fairy tales, Once upon a time, in a kingdom covered in white, lived a princess, of course, but an unhappy princess. She was tired of white.

One day a prince rode up on his beautiful black stallion and popped a magic button in her mail box. The princess was watching him from the window of her castle. She wanted to run outside and pull the prince from the stallion and make him hers, but alas, it was damn cold outside and so the prince got away before the princess was able to get her coat, hat, mittens, snow pants, and uggs on. And so she had to be happy with the magic button she found in her mailbox. (she really thought she’d have preferred the male to the mail.)

She pushed the magic button and there, before her, stood Rumpelstilskin from a previous fairy tale. She recognized him immediately.

“I’m sorry, Rump,” she told him. “But I don’t weave anything. Straw, gold, threads, yarn, I don’t care what. I’m just not a weaver.”

“But you’ve already guessed my name. Isn’t that the whole point? So you don’t have to give me your first born. However, you also don’t get any gold. And the prince is gone, so I guess you’re not left with much,” said the wiley and mischievous Rumpel.

“That’s o.k.” said the princess. “I’m a liberated princess. I know the value of work for pay. You’ve reminded me of that. And now, it’s time for me to catch the commuter train into the city. You, on the other hand, need to return to the land of “once upon a time.” Maybe the prince will come back to get you. You’ll have to find some other princess to delude with your promises of easy, fast, wealth and happiness.”

And for the first time in many, many months, the princess smiled as she looked upon the land of white. Green, she knew, would come soon enough. For now, she loved the white.

The end.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Parker
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 17:28:11

    I love it! Did you make that up? Even if you didn’t, it’s brilliantly retold.

    Reply

  2. maryaltermanwrites
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 17:38:38

    Also, I’d like to figure out how to include your blog on mine. Got any ideas how to go about that?

    Reply

  3. ginalw
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 01:14:34

    I enjoyed this, did you write it?

    Reply

    • maryaltermanwrites
      Feb 08, 2011 @ 03:08:12

      Yes, it is an original by me, written on a cold,wintry day in February. I’m glad you enjoyed it! And thanks for letting me know! I find the fairy tale form amenable to blogging quickies.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Other Awesome Authors

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

