Love that survives wrinkles

Two questions to answer from the internet sphere space: what do I value most and what do I want to be remembered for?

I value my relationships with people most of all, especially family: two sons, husband, four sisters, two brothers, mom and dad (deceased but still in a relationship with him), grandma, grandpa (both also deceased but they often visit me in my dreams), aunts, uncles, cousins, nieces, nephews, friends, their families, and people on word press, teachers of my sons, my sons’ girlfriends, my sons’ friends, the Poor Clares, my in-laws, the coffee shop owners and waitresses. Just everyone I talk to, write to, and say goodnight to. People.

“People who need people are the luckiest people in the world,” sings the old crone, Barbara Streisand. Though I don’t listen to her music much, I love many of her movies and I love her love.

It would be people and love that I value the most, those two things. My Rumi lecture this morning reminded me that it all comes from within, all that love, and well, of course it does.

Is being remembered for love count? How do you remember love?

To answer my own question, stories, songs, poetry, art is one of the ways that people remember and are reminded of love. Which brings me to my “blog theme”, my screenplay, Monkabeans. Or should I name it Monkey Beans, or the Beings of Monkey Mind? I’m bantering that one around but basically, it’s romantic comedy and the theme is love, of the forever kind, as in love that survives being married. I don’t want to preach but it is something I know only too well, that love that survives requires a powerful withinness that goes way beyond simple romance. Or maybe we could redefine romance and have it includes wrinkles.

I want to love, I want to be loved, I want to be remembered for my love and I want love in spite of my wrinkles.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Parker
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:49:12

    Nice thoughts, Mary. But why “in spite of my wrinkles”? Your husband is growing older and getting wrinkles, too. Doesn’t he delight in the fact that you’re growing old with him? And surely he delights in the visible evidence of your many years together!

    Reply

    • maryaltermanwrites
      Jan 11, 2011 @ 04:18:01

      Sharon,
      thanks for the comments, feedback, support.

      I think the person that needs to love in spite of wrinkles is me loving the process of aging (which, for the most part, I currently don’t love much).

      When I write these blogs, I am digging pretty deep and not doing much editing for clarification purposes. I’ve committed to writing a blog a day for 2011 so am doing “speed-blogging”.

      I’m a bit down these days with Jacob having gone back to college, missing him, missing my sister, and dealing with my Mom’s weakening health. Don’t know that I am currently terribly appreciative of time passing!

      Reply

  2. primarythoughts
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:54:07

    I like this one, too. I like Monkabeans… there is enough to it that you think to guess, but it makes you want to know more which means people . will . come.

    Reply

  3. ginalw
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 02:18:36

    Monkabeans…you wonder what it is, so you go to find out. Very good title, I always have problems with titles.

    Reply

    • maryaltermanwrites
      Jan 16, 2011 @ 19:13:52

      Here’s how I have (currently) solved problems with titles: I steal! Yes, it’s true. Monkabeans is a real-live coffee shop located in the Twin Cities, Minnesota (though I found out recently that I and others often mispell it. It’s Munka, with a “u” but I’m thinking I like to leave in the reference to our ancestors).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Other Awesome Authors

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

