Blizzards and Healing

South of the Minnesota River here in Crystal Lake Valley.  The world is white outside, almost completely.  I have been dreaming and hoping for this magnificent blizzard for about ten years.  Hopefully, it doesn’t disappoint.  I am hearing forecasts of eighteen inches.  Zowie.

I plan a hike through the whirling white sometime later this afternoon when it lets up.  There is nothing like a walk in a snowstorm to give you a feeling of peace and quiet.

I feel sorry for my friends who moved to California.  I wonder, are they feeling envious today when they read about the Minnesota weather.

I have started reading “Poetic Medicine” by John Fox.  I’ve really only cracked the spine, but I won’t be going very far today and perhaps can find a poem inside about this fifty mile an hour wind that is closing down my immediate world for today.

I am courting a new client to work with on his book about having a grandchild die in infancy.  That is why I am reading such things as Poetic Medicine and Writing to Heal by James W. Pennebaker, PhD.

Having an infant die has to be the most painful thing imaginable, worse then fifty mile an hour winds throwing ice against any uncovered parts of your body.  In fact, I think the physical pain of walking in a blizzard might be a relief.  Perhaps that is why I am attracted to a hike around Crystal Lake.  It’s so much easier to embrace physical pain.  Spiritual pain, not so easy.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Parker
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 05:18:55

    Nice post, Mary! I really enjoy your thoughts that people who have left Minnesota for California might be wishing they were here for the blizzard. Gotta love that attitude.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Other Awesome Authors

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

